ambiera home ambiera home

Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Create a new account, Search, or Login:
Name:  Password:    
Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Help with CopperCube
Filesize gets extremely big
Author Text

mats_o
Registered User
Quote
2015-12-10 10:08:02

Hi again,

When exporting to WebGL the .ccbjs goes extremely big. The same goes for exe-export, the exe-file gets extremely big. More than 5 times bigger than the 3ds or fbx files that I import from the beginning.

I tried several different settings when exporting from 3ds Max, without any difference in .ccbjs filesize (triangulate, not triangulate, mesh etc).

The .ccbjs can be zipped with over 80% compression so it seems as CC writes the file very inefficient.

Any tips on this matter? As it is now the files canīt be distributed at all.

Thanks!


niko
Moderator
Quote
2015-12-10 16:49:51

It depends on the type of your scene, and why the file size is that big. Difficult to say without seeing the file. If you have a mesh in there which you have a lot of dupliactes of (for example, for a tree, and you have a few hundreds of them), then this isn't stored as instances. You need to do this yourself by converting it to an animated mesh (option in CopperCube under 'modify selection') and then create instances of that one.

If it's not that, and you like me to have a look, you could send me an example file where this happens for you.


mats_o
Registered User
Quote
2015-12-10 18:48:31

No instances or anything special at all really. I could send you the file, where should I send it?

Thanks!!


niko
Moderator
Quote
2015-12-11 07:41:25

Yes, please send me the .ccb file (maybe as .zip if it is that big). Just send it to the address listed under support -> contact.


mats_o
Registered User
Quote
2015-12-11 10:10:23

Great, the file is mailed now.


niko
Moderator
Quote
2015-12-13 04:52:31

Thanks. I think this is solved now, should anybody have a similar problem, try this new plugin for compressing your scene geometry: http://www.ambiera.com/forum.php...


Barry
Guest
Quote
2018-01-11 21:46:41

I have the plugin but can't figure out how to access it to reduce the scene size


Barry
Guest
Quote
2018-01-11 21:53:58

I just tried using verify plugins and a message shows in the log "ignoring extension file 'compress-scene.js because it doesn't start with 'behavior_' or 'action_'"


j9907
Registered User
Quote
2018-01-12 00:32:46

Put it in the Plugins folder. not the extensions folder. I made the same mistake! Haha


barry
Guest
Quote
2018-01-12 15:23:14

Thanks!


barry
Guest
Quote
2018-01-12 15:41:14

Is there a way to modify the plugin code so the objects look the same as before the compression?


j9907
Registered User
Quote
2018-01-12 16:11:12

Not really. it's altering the data so it's smaller / more efficient. It's the same as if you took a model and stuck it into Blender and ran the Decimate function: It removes / changes it so it'll be smaller and faster to load. You can't reduce a model's file size without atlering the appearance of it, sadly.


barry
Guest
Quote
2018-01-12 16:28:18

Ok, thanks for information. I just ran it and it reduced the file by 45%. I just need to do more testing to see if the visuals are still ok.


j9907
Registered User
Quote
2018-01-12 16:31:30

Well, if it says much, I had a huge (75 MB) terrain file ripped from a game using a 3D ripper, and I noticed after I removed a bunch of the trees, it reduced itself down to 15 MB! It still looks similar to what it used to look like, too. I hated the fact that I had to do that, but I want my game to be reasonably sized (which I need to start over eventually..)


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "Internation?l" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Forum Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   





Software: Ambiera Light Forum. © 2008-2015 Nikolaus Gebhardt, Ambiera e.U.